Lt. Dan Choi and Kathy Griffin at DADT Rally

Lt. Dan Choi and Kathy Griffin at DADT Rally

After being arrested for handcuffing himself to the perimeter fence of the White House following the rally organized by the HRC with spokesperson, comedienne Kathy Griffin,  Lt. Dan Choi tells Newsweek that he feels betrayed by the Human Rights Campaign and Kathy Griffin.

“When I heard Kathy Griffin was going to be a spokeswoman for Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, I wondered about that. I have great respect for her as an advocate. But if [the Human Rights Campaign] thinks that having a rally at Freedom Plaza with a comedienne is the right approach, I have to wonder. Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell is not a joking matter to me. To be at Freedom Plaza and not at the White House or Congress? Who are they trying to influence? I felt like they were just trying to speak to themselves. If that’s the best the lobbying groups and HRC can do, then I don’t know how these powerful groups are supposed to represent our community. Kathy Griffin and [HRC president] Joe Solmonese said they would march with me to the White House but didn’t. I feel so betrayed by them.”

